Mixed Berry “NOatmeal”

photo-9

I was never much of an oatmeal-eater before going paleo; unless, of course it was drowning in brown sugar. But really, who doesn’t love anything that’s drowning in sugar?

When I switched over to paleo, I said goodbye to the oatmeal and cereal for breakfast and hello to eggs and smoothies, but after a while, almost the same thing every day got pretty boring. That’s when I started to research some good breakfast recipes and I found a lot of “NOatmeal” recipes floating around on the internet.

I have lots of tried and loved recipes that I have found, but a lot of “NOatmeal” recipes have a base of nuts and aren’t as high in protein as I would like them to be. That’s why I came up with this recipe! The base of this “NOatmeal” is egg whites and berries, which sounds like an odd combo, but when cooked together, makes for a “berry” delicious breakfast! ;)

 

Serves 1

Ingredients

¾ cup liquid egg whites

1 cup strawberries

½ cup blueberries

¼ cup almond milk

1 tbsp. cinnamon

1 tbsp. ground flax seed

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 tbsp. SunButter or any nut butter, for topping (optional, but when is nut butter ever optional ;))

 

1.      Mash your berries. (I like to use a blender or food processor for this step)

2.      In a bowl, combine egg whites and almond milk.

3.      Add your mashed berries, flax seed, and cinnamon to the egg white/almond milk mixture and combine well.

4.      Over a low-medium heat, add your “NOatmeal” mixture to a small pan.

5.      Stir occasionally. You will know your “NOatmeal” is done when it looks like fluffy and runny scrambled eggs.

6.      Pour into a bowl, top with nut butter or any other desired toppings and enjoy!

Look at that SunButter! YUM!

Look at that SunButter! YUM!

Question of the Day: “What do you eat for breakfast?”

~ Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day! I tend to like naturally-sweet breakfast over savory ones, so I usually eat “NOatmeals”, protein shakes, mug muffins, paleo granola “power bowls” (recipes to come!), etc.

7 thoughts on “Mixed Berry “NOatmeal”

    • Thank you! I really love your blog as well-great pictures and yummy looking recipes! I do hope you give this one a try, and let me know how you like it if you do! :)
      Thank you for reading,
      ~Brianna

    • You can definately use whole eggs for this! I have not tried it using whole eggs, mostly because the thought of egg yolks in an “oatmeal” just feels a little odd (and we were also out of eggs! Breakfast emergency!), but I’m sure it would be just as good! If you do use whole eggs, try using about three large eggs and let me know how it is! :)
      Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

