Sweet & Sour Shrimp

DSC_1085

 

Chinese food has a special place in my heart.

When I was younger, grocery shopping with my mom was a highlight of my week. Why? Because within our grocery store, we also have a food court that offers a huge buffet with various types of cuisine from around the world. Despite my mother’s instructions to get vegetables and something “decent”, I always headed straight for the Chinese buffet table and filled my plate. How can you deny Chinese food and all of its sugary, deep-fried goodness?

I still like to enjoy some Chinese once in a while, but we all know that it isn’t great for you. That’s why I recreated one of my favorite Chinese seafood dishes, sweet & sour shrimp, so that I can  enjoy the authentic taste of the dish while feeling good about what I’m putting into my body!

The sweet & sour sauce used in this stir-fry is delectable and could very well be great as a dipping sauce, or, if you are not a fan of shrimp, use chicken instead for a healthy version of everyone’s favorite: sweet & sour chicken.

Served over cauliflower rice, this Chinese remake is sure to satisfy your carry-out cravings!

Ingredients:
1 lb. peeled and deveined shrimp
1 yellow onion, chopped
½ large green bell pepper, chopped
Salt, pepper, and garlic powder, to taste
Coconut oil

Sweet and Sour Sauce:
1 8 oz. can pineapple chunks in pineapple juice
3 tbsp. ketchup (check your ingredients!)
3 tbsp. coconut aminos
1 tbsp. white wine vinegar
1 tsp. fresh grated ginger
1-2 tsp. tapioca or arrowroot starch

1. Heat coconut oil in a large skillet over medium heat.
2. Add chopped onion and bell pepper to the skillet. Sauté until onions are just beginning to become translucent.
3. Season your shrimp with salt, pepper, and a pinch of garlic powder and add them to the pan with the onions and bell pepper. Sauté until the shrimp are fully cooked.
4. To a small sauce pan, add your sauce ingredients. Let simmer until the sauce begins to thicken.
5. Add sauce to the sautéed shrimp and veggies. Let simmer for just a minute.
6. Spoon the shrimp and sauce over cauliflower rice. Enjoy!

DSC_1082

Question of the Day: “What is your favorite Chinese dish?”
~ Me and my brother are both huge fans of General Tso’s chicken, with all of its saucy goodness spooned over white rice…terribly unhealthy, I know, but why must it be so good?!

3 thoughts on “Sweet & Sour Shrimp

Leave a Reply

