Pumpkin Bread

IMG_0019

Oh no, here I go again…

let pumpkin season begin! (Does a silly dance of excitement)

I have quite a bit of a helpless addiction to everything pumpkin-related this time of the year; yet, it’s not even officially autumn yet. Am I a tad bit early?

No, no I am not.

You know where I’m coming from, because I know that I’m not the only one who gets excited when the Pumpkin Spice Latte comes back this time each year at Starbucks.

All of the aromatic pumpkin candles in Bath & Body Works, pumpkin pie, pumpkin patches…you know you love it as much as I do, because if pumpkin doesn’t scream autumn, than I don’t know what else does.

Now that I’ve open-heartedly shared my love for my favorite orange squash, I apologize in advance if I start to post one too many pumpkin recipes.

It really is such a great vegetable to cook with, as it is a tad sweet and makes you feel warm and happy inside!

As I checked out of Wegmans with my 20 cans of organic pumpkin while getting odd looks of curiosity from other customers, the first thing that popped into my little mind to make with this pumpkin was a classic: pumpkin bread.

Now I may or may not have eaten half of the loaf…I regret nothing!

It is so delicious, moist and sweet; and it also very closely resembles the pumpkin bread that your grandmother makes.

Its only downfall: well, it is not the most beautiful baked good you’ve ever seen, but pumpkin bread is traditionally, well, brown and rectangular, so getting a good snapshot of the bread was a bit of a game; I wanted it to look somewhat appealing (as well as artsy).

IMG950017

So, if you have not made a pumpkin recipe yet this season, I sure do hope that this pumpkin bread becomes your first!

Ingredients:

1 cup almond flour
1/4 cup coconut flour
1/4 cup tapioca flour/starch
1/2 cup coconut palm sugar
1 cup pumpkin purée
3 eggs
2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. liquid stevia
A pinch of sea salt

1. Preheat your oven to 350º F.
2. Add dry ingredients to a mixing bowl a combine.
3. In a separate bowl, whisk your three eggs.
4. Add whisked eggs and pumpkin to the flour/sugar/spice mixture and mix well, using a handheld mixer or a standing mixer.
5. Add to the mix the liquid stevia.
6. Line a small bread loaf pan with parchment paper, and scoop the pumpkin bread dough into the pan, smoothing out on top.
7. Bake for about 45-60 minutes, or until a wooden toothpick can be stuck in a come out clean.
8. Enjoy the warm, autumnal aromas drifting through the house as your pumpkin bread is baking.
9. Remove from the oven and let cool slightly before slicing and devouring!

IMG_0031

Question of the Day: “What is your favorite thing to cook with pumpkin?”
~ I would love to hear what you have to say, as perhaps I could recreate it in the future 😉

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Bread

Leave a comment