My Secret to the Perfect Mashed Cauliflower

Cauliflower; such a versatile vegetable! Alone it tastes pretty bland, but there are so many fun (and interesting) ways out there to use it. You can make pizza crusts, use it in place of rice, blend it and add it to soups to make it creamy, and heck, there’s even this recipe for cauliflower “oatmeal”!

Although I have not experimented too much with the cauliflower, perhaps my favorite way to prepare this vegetable is to mash it and serve it in place of mashed potatoes. It makes a great, low carb side dish that tastes great and pairs nicely with any good ole’ home-style, comfort food meals (you know what I’m talking about: meatloaf, paleo fried chicken, stews, etc).

I have seen lots of recipes for mashed cauliflower, and all are about the same. Really, just boil the cauliflower, add some spices and blend in a food processor. Yes, it was good, but sometimes the texture was a little odd-almost runny, not like the creamy, original mashed potatoes that most people love.

My secret for getting the perfect textured mashed cauliflower is to process it in the food processor and then add it to a high speed blender (such as the Vitamix). This makes the cauliflower almost a whipped-like texture that tastes so creamy without the addition of butter, milk, sour cream, etc. I also like to boil my cauliflower in chicken broth or stock. This adds a nice, rich flavor to the mashed cauliflower rather than just steaming it or boiling it in water.

 

Steps to get the Perfect Mashed Cauliflower:

1.   Add your cauliflower to a pot and add some garlic, black pepper, salt, and chicken broth or stock. (Use 1 cup per small head of cauliflower. You can always add more during the blending process if you feel they need more liquid).

2.      Cover and boil for about 20-25 minutes, or until the cauliflower is soft and tender.

3.      Add cauliflower to a food processor and pulse until the cauliflower is broken down, but where it is still somewhat chucky. If you would like to add any other seasonings, ghee, coconut milk, etc. now is the time to do so.

4.      Add slightly mashed cauliflower to your blender and blend on medium-high speed until the cauliflower is completely mashed and looks fluffy and creamy. You may have to stir occasionally to make sure that all of the cauliflower gets blended.

The first time I made mashed cauliflower this way, my dad said, “I really like these mashed potatoes.” We let him finish eating his huge bowl before we told him that it was cauliflower. I even made this on Thanksgiving: it really is a pleaser!

Question(s) of the Day:

“What is your favorite way to prepare cauliflower?”

“What is one cauliflower recipe/idea you want to try?”

~I REALLY want to try that cauliflower “oatmeal”!!

4 thoughts on “My Secret to the Perfect Mashed Cauliflower

  1. I really want to try this. I know you used a Vitamix, but I only have a Cuisinart Mixer and a blender (besides my processor). Do you think that will make a difference?

    • BTW: I haven’t been too excited about Mashed Cauliflower in the past without mixing in potatoes just for the consistency.

      • You can use your processor first and then blend on high in your blender, that will work. I understand what you mean about not being too thrilled with the mashed cauliflower in the past, because I have also tried it and did not enjoy it because the texture was odd. I really like these ones though because of the texture and creaminess. You can also try adding some organic, grass fed butter and sea salt to the mixture, maybe even some garlic. That will give these a bolder and richer flavor that will please the kids and will make it taste less “cauliflowery”…..lol

Leave a Reply

