Prosciutto-Wrapped Asparagus Bundles

photo(15)

Do you want to know one way to get yourself to eat more vegetables, and like them? Wrap them in some kind of meat. Simple.
But honestly, that seems to be the solution to everything these days: Just wrap any food in meat, but more specifically, bacon.
Bacon wrapped shrimp, bacon wrapped green beans, bacon wrapped bacon….bacon bacon bacon.
Now, I love bacon as much as the next girl, but I think I have come to my own conclusion in my mind: I think I’m more of a prosciutto girl.
How un-American am I?

DSC_1170

I know, mock me if you will, but there is just something about that salty and thinly sliced ham just appeals to my taste buds more than bacon does. Blasphemy, you say?

Prosciutto is often served as appetizer meat, but is also great to use in recipes, like this one.
I am usually not too fond of asparagus, but mom wanted asparagus with dinner, and since she pays for the groceries, I figured I should honor her request for asparagus. By wrapping the vegetable in prosciutto and roasting with lemon and garlic, it made the asparagus spears salty and delectable.
Mom was happy to get her asparagus, and the rest of us happy about not having to endure through another serving of bland asparagus.

Ingredients:
1 lb. asparagus, rinsed and thick ends trimmed
4. oz. prosciutto
1 tbsp. olive oil
1 tbsp. lemon juice
½ tsp. sea salt
½ tsp. garlic powder

1. Preheat oven to 400° F.
2. Toss rinsed and trimmed asparagus with olive oil, lemon juice, sea salt, and garlic powder.
3. Lay a slice of prosciutto horizontally on a cutting board. Place two or three spears of asparagus on one side of the prosciutto, leaving spears exposed, and begin to roll to up. Once rolled, place seam-down on a baking sheet.
4. Repeat with remaining asparagus.
5. Place the prosciutto-wrapped asparagus in the oven and roast for 10 minutes.
6. Remove from the oven and enjoy!

photo(16)

Question of the day: Bacon, prosciutto, salami, ham…..what’s your favorite salty meat?

One thought on “Prosciutto-Wrapped Asparagus Bundles

  1. OMG… that looks wonderful Brianna!!!! I’m definitely going to do that recipe,..THANKS!! Jamie from Vermont xo

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

