Caramel Banana Pie

I am terrible at baking desserts. There, I just admitted it.
I cannot tell you how many dessert recipes I have tried to create that end up either (1) soggy and coconut oil laden, or (2) a dry, crumbly mess.
Baking is just not my thing, and that makes me terribly sad, because desserts are my favorite food….I guess I’m better at eating them than I am making them.
Maybe I’m just too picky, but when I have a dessert, it HAS to be good. Especially if I am making it myself-it cannot taste the least bit paleo, it has to taste like the real thing.
Which is why when I post a dessert recipe here on my blog, you know it has to be good because I have high dessert standards. I would not lie to you and crush your spirits; desserts are no laughing matter.
Because of my dessert dyslexia, I had my doubts about jumping in and making a pie as a father’s day gift to my dad. The last thing I wanted to do was ruin the pie, mostly because I didn’t get my father anything else for the special day…oops!
So I took two of my dad’s favorite sweet foods-bananas and caramel, and put them together to create another one of his favorite things: pie.

DSC_1234

 

Despite the fact that my pie did not look very pretty in my opinion, everyone absolutely loved it and asked for seconds. I think my dad appreciated his father’s day gift, as he told me that “this is one of the best pies I’ve ever had,” and that I “should sell this recipe;” the others at the table agreed.
All of the kind comments, even from the non-paleo eaters, filled my heart with joy.

It all begins with a sweet, graham cracker crust, followed by two layers of fresh sliced bananas, covered in a dark, oozy caramel sauce. And to finish it off, a spread of whipped coconut cream with just enough cinnamon and vanilla to bring out the cinnamon graham cracker flavor in the crust.

DSC_1227

 

Come on, you know you want a bite 😉

 

Ingredients:

For the crust:
½ c. coconut flour
1/3 c. almond flour
1 egg
3 tbsp. honey
2 tbsp. coconut oil, softened
1 tbsp. ghee, softened
1 ½ tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. vanilla extract
¼ tsp. baking soda
1/8 tsp. sea salt

For the Caramel:
1 14.5 oz. can coconut milk
1 cup coconut palm sugar
1 tbsp. ghee
1 tsp. vanilla

For the Cinnamon Whipped Coconut Cream:
1 14.5 oz. can full-fat canned coconut milk, refrigerated overnight.
1-2 tsp. honey
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 tsp. cinnamon

3-4 fresh bananas, sliced

Step 1: Make the Crust
1. Preheat oven to 350° f.
2. In a bowl, combine dry ingredients: flours, cinnamon, baking soda, and sea salt.
3. In a standing mixer, add wet ingredients: egg, honey, coconut oil, ghee, and vanilla extract. Beat until combined.
4. Add the dry mix to the wet mixture and mix well.
5. Grease a 9-9.5” pie pan with coconut oil. Make sure you use enough-as you don’t want the crust to stick to the pan.
6. Add the pie crust mix to the pie pan and spread out around the bottom of the pan and up the sides.
7. Cut out a circular piece of parchment paper to fit inside the pie pan. Place inside of the pan, on top of the dough and add dried beans or pie weights on top of the parchment. This just keeps the pie crust from slightly rising.
8. Bake for 15 minutes, and then remove from the oven, allowing it to completely cool.

DSC_1215

 

 

Step 2: Make the caramel
1. Add all caramel ingredients-coconut milk, coconut palm sugar, ghee, and vanilla extract, to a sauce pan and allow to simmer for about 25-30 minutes, or until liquid is reduced by about half and is quite thick.
2. Remove from heat and pan, allowing it to cool down.

Step 3: Make the Cinnamon Whipped Coconut Cream
1. Remove canned coconut milk from the refrigerator.
2. Open the can and scoop the thick, cream part off of the top and place in a bow or standing mixer. Reserve the excess water left in the can for another use.
3. Add cinnamon, honey, and vanilla extract to the coconut cream and beat with your mixer until stiff peaks begin to form.

Now it’s time to assemble your pie!
In the fully cooled pie crust, add the sliced bananas. Pour and spread the thick caramel over the bananas. And finally, scoop the whipped coconut cream from the mixing bowl and smooth over the top of the pie.
If you are not serving immediately, cover lightly, leaving a small section uncovered, and place in the refrigerator.
When you are ready, slice and serve!

DSC_1235

Question of the Day: “What is your favorite kind of pie?”
~Even though I have never been much of a pie person, my favorites are apple, Boston cream, and pumpkin. I am known for taking the inside filling of the pie, leaving only the crust left for my family. They secretly hate me for this!

Leave a Reply

