Cinnamon Sugar Baked Nuts

Ahhh, it’s Saturday….

I hope everyone had a wonderful fourth of July yesterday, and I hope you were able to get some sleep last night with all of the loud fireworks going on!

Tell me, how did you celebrate? Fireworks, parties, cookouts….do you have any other patriotic plans for the weekend? Hopefully hurricane Arthur didn’t ruin your activities!

I don’t know about you, but there is just something special about this small holiday that makes me happy. Maybe it’s the bright, glowing fireworks on the warm, summer nights, or the family get-togethers with your aunt’s homemade star cookies. Whatever it may be, holidays are special times in the year that call for celebration!

Okay, okay, I’m done with my holiday reminiscing and will get on to the recipe now.

There is a heavenly aroma floating through my house at the moment as I have another batch of these delicious nuts baking in the oven. Cinnamon and sugar….I could just eat my house because of how good it smells!

photo (8)

Have you ever gotten those cinnamon sugar roasted nuts from those street vendors when in the city, or perhaps at a fair? Oh, my mom just loves those, and that is exactly what these cinnamon sugar baked nuts taste like: crunchy, sweet, with just enough cinnamon.

I have made quite a few batches of these over the past week or so; they make for a great snack or even a party food to bring to potlucks….everyone loves them!

And the recipe is also quite versatile. Don’t like almonds or cashews? You can try swapping them out in equal amounts for walnuts, pecans, hazelnuts….whatever sparks your fancy!

You’ll go nuts for these nuts! (Sorry, I had to!)

 

Ingredients:

1 c. almonds

1 c. cashews

½ c. coconut palm sugar

2 tbsp. cinnamon

1 ½ tbsp. water

1 egg white

 

1. Preheat oven to 300° F.

2. Whisk together egg white and water until frothy. Set aside.

3. Combine almonds and cashews in a large bowl.

4. In another bowl, mix together the coconut palm sugar and cinnamon.

5. Add the egg white and water mixture to the nuts and mix well.

6. To the nuts, add the cinnamon sugar mix and stir well to coat all of the nuts.

7. Grease a baking sheet with coconut oil. Dump the sugar coated nuts on to the baking sheet and bake for 30 minutes, stirring halfway through.

8. Remove from the oven and let the nuts completely enjoy before diving in!

 

 

photo (7)

 

Question of the day: “What is your favorite type of nut?” (Peanuts don’t count; they’re a legume!)

~Cashews for me!

Leave a comment